Calico Session Pale (GF)
1. A plain woven textile made from unprocessed cotton.
2. A gluten-free* pale ale, low in bitterness with hints of grapefruit & marmalade.
WHAT IS GLUTEN-FREE BEER?
As with many beers, we include barley and oats in the grains used to create Calico, both of which contain gluten.
According to coeliac.org.uk “Only foods that contain 20 parts per million (ppm) or less can be labelled as 'gluten free'.”
To achieve this we use a super-useful enzyme called Brewer’s Clarex which breaks down the proteins in the grain and brings down the gluten content of the beer, making it safe for those with gluten intolerances to enjoy.
Every batch of Calico is then tested by an external body to ensure that the beer is under the 20 ppm threshold, so you can be sure that you’re getting a consistent level of gluten with every sip.
The result of this process is a smooth, easy drinking pale ale which can be appreciated by those with gluten intolerances, as well as those without.
For more information on gluten-free beer, please see our BLOG POST.
- Hazy, Pale
- Oats, Pale
- Amarillo, Centennial, Ekuanot
- Yes (Can )